top of page
Search
  • indraske

Talks about transplant


March 2020 the world was shaken by COVID-19. First lockdown happened, schools was closed and home learning started for my kids. It was crazy busy time as you can imagine with three boys at home,all of them being in separate age groups. But it did helped me to forget my problems and carry on with my life. Day to day i was noticing that I’m getting tired quicker, my legs are swollen and my tummy expanding again. Well first I was hopeful that this was just an extra weight from lockdown cooking. You know what I mean right ?Come on,all the flour and yeast was gone from the shelves ,everyone was baking those cakes😜😂But unfortunately it wasn’t the extra weight. This time ascites was building up at incredible speed and by July 2020 I looked like six months pregnant lady. I had to think twice what to wear before going out, so people wouldn’t congratulate me on my fourth pregnancy. Mid July I had an appointment with my consultant at Kings College Hospital and my ascites was confirmed. I was put on diuretics which helped me amazingly.I lost about 6 kg of fluid in less than a week. However not for long🤦🏼‍♀️Soon weight started to go up again and my diuretics dose was increased.Guess what other tablet was increased 😫Of course prednisolone!!!This time to 7.5mg,oh where are we going with this...

September 2020 i had a phone consultation with my Dr.He wasn’t happy with my blood test results,it was raising slowly even with increased pred(and 7,5mg made my face round 😖).So my Dr. booked an appointment in a few weeks.He wanted to talk with me about transplant!!!Now that was shocking 😱I knew i might need it one day,but didn’t expect this to be considered so soon.I reacted very emotionally,tears was rolling down my cheeks.I didn’t want to speak with no one for the rest of the day.Had lots of thinking to do.

The day of the appointment came and the dreaded talk started...Dr explained that the timing to be put on the transplant list is very important.It’s better to do it now while i am still fit,because things can get worse very quickly and i might be to weak to have an operation.This was freaking me out.I didn’t know what to expect.I was really afraid that ascites might become uncontrollable and i will need a drain from my tummy...with a needle 😱I felt like a ticking bomb with my complications,you just never know when next one kicks in🤦🏼‍♀️I was told i will need transplant assessment ,wich basically is lots of tests and information.Also i needed a Ct scan.

Honestly my life changed a lot lately.I started to have crazy muscle cramps.It wasn’t a new thing but they became more painful and was happening like 2-3 times a day.It wasn’t just regular cramps,it was paralysing!I was screaming from pain,nothing worked.I used some cooling spray,wich was helping a bit.But nothing couldn’t be done to prevent them,even magnesium didn’t worked.My night sleep was messed up.Day time i was sleepy and needed quite a long naps.My eldest son told me that my eyes looked so yellow like Michael Jordan’s 😂Kids...they say things how they see them😂No bubble wrapping at all😜And he was right,they were quite yellow now.Despite tiredness and some pains i was pushing myself to be active.I was still going for long walks with kids to the parks.It was very hard but i am stubborn 😜💪🏻I started to prepare my mind and my body for the next chapter of my life.

P.S.In this picture is my youngest son,very bored of homeschooling in first lockdown 😂😂Actually i do have a little collection of his faces during that time😂Hilarious little boy🖤

Have a nice weekend!

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page